Tags

, , ,

Hello again, dear Food Blog. It’s been so long. And how I’ve missed you. I sure haven’t stopped cooking. Life and all of its details can often come between me and my posting.

But enough about that, I made Breakfast Burritos! And not just 2 or 3. Nope. I made 15 and only stopped then because I ran out of tortillas. I could have made 3 more if I hadn’t run out!

Why would a person make 15/18 burritos at a time you ask? Here’s the long answer: Erik and I are both up and working pretty early every morning. I start around 6:30 and he starts at 7. Usually he comes downstairs by 8:00 and asks the kids and I what we feel like having for breakfast (I can hear my mom groaning now – neither she nor my grandma would have offered the choices, but we’re in the habit of doing so), then he makes breakfast for everyone. We’re all big on having protein first thing in the morning and frankly, we’re pretty sick of eggs being either scrambled or over medium. So to break it up a little, and also to give my breakfast-making husband a break, I took an hour on a Saturday morning and made fifteen-but-could-have-been-eighteen breakfast burritos.

Here’s what you need and how to do it:

1 lb. bulk breakfast sausage
20 eggs
6 medium Yukon Gold potatoes, cut into a 3/4-inch dice
1/2 c. whole milk or heavy cream
1 green pepper, diced small
1/2 of a medium red onion, diced small
2 cloves of garlic, minced
2 c. shredded cheddar cheese
2 to 3 T. butter
2 to 3 T. vegetable oil
15 or 18 ten-inch flour tortillas
salt and pepper to taste

Heat the butter and oil in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add the potatoes, season with salt and pepper to taste. Partially cover the potatoes with a lid – this helps them cook through a little faster before they start to brown. You can remove the lid about halfway through cooking to allow browning and crisping to happen. We want that to happen. Add the sausage to another large skillet and start to brown over medium high heat. After you have it crumbled up and it starts to brown (about 5 minutes), add the onion, green pepper and garlic. Give it a stir every so often. Continue to cook potatoes, stirring often enough to keep potatoes from sticking to the bottom of the pan but not so often that you don’t give them a chance to brown – it took about 12 to 15 minutes for my potatoes to get as crisp as we like them.

If you have a spare minute while the sausage mixture and potatoes are cooking, you can grate your cheese. You can also start cracking all 20 of those eggs into a medium bowl. Add the milk or cream to the eggs along with salt and pepper to taste, then whisk well.

Once the sausage mixture is brown and the veggies are tender, use a slotted spoon to scoop all of it into a very large bowl. When the potatoes are cooked through and as crisp as you’d like, spoon them into the large bowl with the sausage mixture.

Add some butter to one of the now-empty large skillets, then pour your whisked eggs in and cook over medium heat, stirring them often to scramble them. Once they are scrambled, add the eggs to the potatoes and sausage in the large bowl. Stir everything together to combine.

Grab your tortillas and layer them in damp paper towels. I heated half of them at a time, layering a damp paper towel between every 3 or 4 tortillas. It took about 2 minutes on high to get them as soft and pliable as I liked. You want them soft to keep them from tearing while you roll.

Time to roll the burritos! I searched for a decent tutorial on burrito rolling and this is the best one I could find. Watch it if you need to, if not – start rolling your burritos by taking a tortilla and laying it flat, spoon 1 to 1 1/2 cups of the filling in the center, sprinkle desired amount of cheese on top, then roll. Make them as fat or skinny as you’d like – whatever amount you use will obviously affect the amount of burritos you end up with. Just make ’em how you like them!

Wrap each burrito in a square of foil, then place burritos in gallon ziplocs and freeze. When you’re ready for breakfast, heat a burrito in the microwave for 2 to 3 minutes, add your favorite salsa, guacamole, sour cream, cilantro…and enjoy!

ETA: This recipe is inspired and adapted from a recipe found at the Ninth & Bird site.

