Still going strong on my healthier eating habits, and I am getting results. With all the incredible, fresh food I’ve been eating, I’ve found that I really don’t miss the bread like I thought I would. But pizza is that one thing that I will always love (and still occasionally indulge on). But guess what? I found a recipe for crust that will blow your mind. As it turns out, cauliflower can be pureed and combined with an egg and some cheese to make a crust that really works! Who knew? I’ve adapted this recipe from Eat, Drink and Smile. It is brilliant in its deceptiveness, and totally worth the effort.

1 cup of cauliflower puree (see below)
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp dried oregano
1-2 cloves of roasted garlic*
salt and pepper to taste
a little drizzle of olive oil (optional)

*To roast garlic, smash the cloves first on a cutting board with the back of a chef’s knife. Then it will be easy to peel. Place the peeled garlic cloves on a baking pan and brush liberally with olive oil. Roast until golden. This is a perfect job for my convection toaster oven. Roasting the garlic takes the bite out, and gives it a rich, buttery flavor.

Crust:
Steam an entire head cauliflower (leaves and stems removed) for a couple of minutes until softened. Drain well, then toss it into a food processor with the roasted garlic for a couple of pulses, until it is nicely pureed. Depending on the size of the head, you will get 2-3 cups of puree. 1 cup of puree is all you need for one crust. But you might as well make several batches. Because one pizza is never enough.

Stir in the egg, cheese, salt, pepper and oregano into the puree. Spread onto a pizza pan that you’ve brushed with olive oil. Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes.

Remove from the oven, then top with your favorite tomato sauce and pizza goodness. I used a homemade marinara, mozzarella, fresh parmesan, pepperoni, and mushrooms. Return to the oven, and bake for a few more minutes, or until the cheese is bubbly and the toppings are browned. Depending on the toppings, you might want to just run it under the broiler for a few more minutes.

I had kids inhaling this pizza, so it’s a good thing I made two!

