Tags

, , , , , ,

Ok, here we go. Day three.

Skipping the workout tonight only because I’m not feeling well. I’m sure I’ll be ready to resume tomorrow. Jillian awaits. Meanwhile, wheat-free, grain free diet is intact.

I found this recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple, and I’ve revised it to my liking. The first taste I had of these made me smile as though I had eaten a Reese’s. Sugar against salt. Crunchy against soft. These are outrageous. Truly as good as candy. I’m not joking.

Here’s how I made them:
1/2 c walnuts
1/2 c pecans
1/4 c almond meal (I made this with my food processor. Just pulse until the almonds have reached a fine, crumbly state.)
1/4 c almond butter (I made my own in my food processor too.)
1/4 c coconut oil
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp raw honey
1/4 tsp sea salt (this takes it over the top)
1/2 c golden raisins

Toast nuts until golden. Chop finely in a food processor. Melt oil and almond butter in microwave for about 20 seconds. Stir until smooth. Add vanilla, honey, and sea salt to mixture. Stir. Fold into nut mixture. Fold in raisins. Line an 8 x 4 in loaf pan with waxed paper. Or you could press the mixture into a small sheet pan like this:

The bars will be too thin if you spread the mixture across the entire pan. Spread the mixture and press evenly. Chill about 20 minutes or until firm. Cut into about 6 bars, depending on the size of your pan.

These are high in calories, but very healthy. A perfect pre-workout snack.

