Tags

, , , ,


I’ve always known that Erik grew up eating fried rice with eggs for breakfast. I grew up eating warmed rice with milk, cinnamon and sugar for breakfast. So the thought of fried rice in the morning never really appealed to me…until I saw this recipe in Everyday Food. The first time I made it, we both were hooked (it didn’t take much for him, obviously). Not only is it full of delicious garlic-ginger flavor, but it also is now my favorite way to use up leftover cooked rice.

This dish has become so loved; I always make sure Erik has it for his birthday breakfast, and numerous other times throughout the year as well. It comes together really fast and is simple to make. So go ahead, think outside the box (I know I had to), and give it a whirl!

Breaskfast Fried Rice
2 T. vegetable oil
1 thick slice ham (8 oz.), cubed*
1 bunch green onions, sliced in 3/4-inch pieces (separate green and white parts)
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 t. finely grated peeled fresh ginger
coarse salt and ground pepper
1 1/4 c. cooked white rice (I’ve used as much as 2 cups of rice)
2 T. rice vinegar (I usually use seasoned, but unseasoned is fine too)
2 T. soy sauce
4 large eggs

In a large nonstick skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of oil over medium-high heat. Add ham, scallion white, garlic and ginger; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring frequently, for about 3 or 4 minutes.

Add rice, scallion greens, vinegar and soy sauce. Cook, stirring, until heated through, 2 to 4 minutes. Divide fried rice among two bowls.

Wipe out the skillet with a paper towel, heat 1 T. of oil over medium and crack eggs into skillet. Season with salt and pepper, cook until set. Top each bowl of rice with 2 eggs.

*In the recipe shown in the photo, I used bacon. Bacon or ham work really well; I usually just use what I have on hand. When using bacon, I microwave several slices, crumble it into small pieces and stir it in at the end before topping rice with eggs.

