Tags

,

I like to make this the day after Thanksgiving, when my refrigerator is still packed with plenty of fresh vegetables, turkey and fresh herbs. It’s extremely simple to put together, and is a great way to eat light after the holiday.

This recipe is one of my own making. I think I’ve been making variations of this soup since we were first married, when all I owned was a tiny, mini crockpot. Back then, I couldn’t figure out how to adjust this soup to fit in that silly pot (that I felt obligated to use because it was a wedding gift). Now I make it in a ginormous pot on the stove. This recipe will feed an army (or a very large family), simply because that’s the only way I know how to cook. Get creative and don’t be afraid to use the vegetables you have available in your refrigerator. Also, adjust the amount of stock to taste. I think 32 oz is a good place to start.

I promise this is a very easy recipe to make, and you’ll feel like a million bucks when you ladle it out for your kids, as they ask, with their eyes shining, for seconds. (Ok, dreaming a little there.)

2 16 oz boxes of chicken stock
3 large carrots, diced
4 ribs of celery, diced
2 cups of fresh, green beans, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 8 oz box of baby bella mushrooms, sliced into thick pieces (can use a variety, or white button also)
3 cups of shredded, white turkey (I am a little over-the-top picky about my turkey for this soup. Only the very best, perfectly cooked turkey gets in this recipe.)
leftover gravy (if you have it available)
brown rice (see below)
3-4 Tb chopped, fresh parsley
3 Tb of mixed herbs (sage, thyme, marjoram, rosemary)
2 Tb olive oil
garlic salt to taste
fresh ground pepper to taste

Prepare the rice
Michael prefers this recipe without the rice. If you make it that way, you’ll have a delicious, low carb meal. I prefer brown rice in mine. I get the rice going before I tackle the soup.
boil 3 cups of water
add 1 cup of brown rice
Reduce heat, simmer until done, about 30 minutes. Remove from heat. The rice should have a very slight bite to it, because the hot soup will continue to cook it, unless you serve it on the side.

Make the soup:
Sauté the carrots, onions and celery in the olive oil. Add the stock and turkey. Bring to a “high simmer.” Add the green beans. When they are bright green, add the mushrooms. Simmer for 10-15 minutes to heat through, stirring often. I like the beans to have a tiny crunch to them, so I try not to leave them on the heat too long.

The part that makes the soup extra special and much richer in flavor is adding some leftover gravy. For this recipe, I added about 1 1/2 cups of gravy. As you stir the soup, the gravy will melt right in.

Add the fresh herbs at the end, then season with garlic salt and fresh pepper to taste.

Add the rice at this point, or serve it on the side so it can be added to taste.

