Tags

I love lentils. I don’t think people eat enough of them. They’re such an amazing source of protein. If you’re mostly meatless, like me, this is a tremendous substitute for animal protein. I developed this recipe based on flavors I love. It just underscores the fact that healthy food can taste amazing.

1 1/4 c of green lentils
1 large carrot, diced
1 large celery stalk, diced
1/4 c fresh parsley, coarsely chopped
1 Tb fresh thyme, chopped
4 slices sun dried tomatoes in oil, minced
3 Tb red onion, chopped
10 kalamata olives, chopped
1/3 c feta, crumbled
1/4 c vinaigrette (see below)
garlic salt to taste

Boil the lentils for about 20 minutes, and drain in a colander. Run cold water through them to stop the cooking. Add the rest of the ingredients, ending with the dressing. Toss to combine.

A note on vinaigrette: I really don’t think there’s any reason to buy dressing. It’s usually full of high fructose corn syrup, all kinds of fillers and made with soy oil. It’s much easier (and cheaper) to whip up your own. For this recipe, I use roughly equal parts of extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar mixed with about 1 heaping tablespoon of pesto. With the olive oil and vinegar as the base, you can get creative and add any fresh (or dried) herbs you have on hand. It’s impossible to mess it up.

