Some of my favorite recipes have the fewest ingredients. This is one that I started making years ago for Michael. These roasted tomatoes are so flavorful and bright – right out of the oven. They’re also good cooled on salads or coarsely chopped for sauces. The nice thing is that you can adapt this recipe for any amount of tomatoes you have. I usually make a couple pounds at a time, and refrigerate the leftovers for salads.

2 lbs of Roma tomatoes, halved and seeded
1/2 c of extra virgin olive oil
sea salt for sprinkling
Italian seasoning to taste
1/2 c freshly grated Parmesan cheese

Place the halved tomatoes in a roasting pan. Drizzle generously with olive oil. I use a silicone brush for this, and it works perfectly. Sprinkle with the sea salt and Italian seasonings. If I have pesto on hand, sometimes I use it instead of the Italian seasonings.

The key to flavorful, caramelized tomatoes is to bake them slowly. I usually bake at 300 degrees for about 45 minutes to one hour. The skins should get brown and crisp, and the olive oil makes a nice, little pool in the center of the tomato. After I take them out of the oven, I like to dust them with freshly grated parmesan.

