Tags

, ,


This morning, again, Erik and I were up with the chickens. Or whatever animal it is that gets up at the crack of dawn. Most Saturday mornings consist of Erik making breakfast for the kids: pancakes and whatever breakfast meat (bacon or sausage) we have. Today I was up for something slightly different and suggested Muffins That Taste Like Donuts. I’ve made them many times and our kids love them.

Muffins That Taste Like Donuts is a recipe straight off of PW’s Tasty Kitchen site. I haven’t changed a single thing, nor do I plan to. Ok, I take that back – whenever I make a baked good that I want ALL of us to be able to eat, if it has eggs, I have to find a workaround so that my sweet boy with the egg allergy can enjoy it too. My workaround for most baked goods is a mixture of 1/4 c. of warm water and 1 t. of yeast. So if you make these muffins, you can probably expect to have them raise a little more than mine did, and they will most likely be more yellow in color than mine are.

Whether you use the egg, or don’t – just make them. It’s uncanny. They are muffins. And yet they taste like donuts. Serve them up warm with some scrambled eggs on the side and you’re good. Really good.

Muffins That Taste Like Donuts
1 3/4 c. flour
1 1/2 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. nutmeg
1/2 t. cinnamon
1/3 c. oil
3/4 c. sugar
1 egg (or 1 t. yeast dissolved in 1/4 c. warm water)
3/4 c. milk

To make the delicious donut topping/coating:
1/4 c. butter, melted
1/3 c. white sugar
1 T. cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray muffin pan with cooking spray (don’t use muffin liners).

Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside. Combine oil, sugar, egg (or substitute) and milk. Add dry ingredients to wet and stir only until just combined. Divide evenly into muffin cups and bake for 15-20 minutes.

While muffins are baking, combine sugar with cinnamon for topping.

Shake muffins out of pan while they are still hot. Dip or roll them in melted butter, then roll in cinnamon and sugar mix. Let cool. Then dig in!

Makes 12 muffins.

