Tags

This recipe says holiday to me. We never make mashed potatoes at home. Not that I don’t love them. But potatoes are my nemesis. After trying this, I realized that it’s truly possible to substitute cauliflower for potatoes.

I had smashed cauliflower at a local restaurant called Grill Smith several times. I was struck by how savory, rich, and light it was, all at the same time. I was determined to make it at home and I think I’ve got it. If you are trying to be carb-conscious, try this in place of mashed potatoes, and you will never look back. It will definitely be on our Thanksgiving table this year.

2 heads of cauliflower
5 tb butter, melted
4 cloves of garlic
heavy cream
salt and pepper to taste

Peel back the leaves from the cauliflower, core the stem, and then slice the head into thick wedges. Place the slices on a large baking sheet. Put the garlic cloves on the baking sheet as well. Brush everything with the melted butter. Sprinkle with salt to taste. Roast in the oven on a low setting (about 325) until the cauliflower looks caramelized and the garlic is soft. In my convection oven on the roast setting, this took about 30 minutes.

Puree the cauliflower and garlic in a food processor, or use a mini chopper to puree in small batches. Spoon the puree into a large bowl, and drizzle with cream until the consistency is like mashed potatoes. For two heads of cauliflower, that would be about 1/4 to 1/3 of a cup. Stir to blend, season with salt and pepper to taste.

