Tags

, ,


Until several years ago, I never really loved cornbread. It had always just been something that happened to be on the table when you eat chili. However, several years ago I volunteered to make a huge amount of cornbread – enough to feed 250 people – to help with a fundraiser. I have no idea why I didn’t go buy a huge amount of cornbread mix to get the job done. Instead, I did a search online and grabbed the first recipe I found – which happens to be this one.

At the fundraiser people raved about the cornbread so I decided to give it a try. (I cannot even believe that I hadn’t tasted it before serving it to that many people – what is wrong with me?) Fortunately it turned out to be more than okay and I was hooked. I’ve been using the very same recipe ever since – in a much smaller quantity of course. What makes this recipe so great? It’s slightly sweet and so very moist. I mean, who wants to eat dry, bland cornbread? I promise you, this delivers. And proudly takes its well-deserved place next to your bowl of chili.

Buttermilk Cornbread
1 stick of butter
2/3 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 c. buttermilk
1/2 t. baking soda
1 c. cornmeal
1 c. all-purpose flour
1/2 t. salt

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease an 8-inch square pan. Melt butter in large skillet. Remove from heat and stir in sugar. Quickly add eggs and beat until well blended. Combine buttermilk with baking soda and stir mixture in pan. Stir in cornmeal, flour and salt until well blended and few lumps remain. Pour batter into the prepared pan. Bake for 30 to 40 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

