This recipe is one that really just needs to be added to the blog for posterity’s sake. According to my family anyway. It is an awesome way to use up garden tomatoes and cucumbers. I was raised on this salad and I can’t remember a summer where we didn’t have this at least once a week. My kids also know and love it as well. It’s such an easy salad to throw together and goes so well with anything grilled. My mom especially loves when the meal contains this salad, some fried potatoes and whatever meat we’ve grilled. She actually likes when the salad gets combined with the potatoes on her plate – I suppose that’s her Mennonite/Amish roots coming to the surface? As for me, I just like to eat it. Period.

Cucumber Salad
1 1/2 English cucumbers (or 3 medium regular cucumbers), peeled and sliced thick
1/4 red onion, diced
1 green pepper, diced
4 to 6 Roma tomatoes (or use vine ripened equivalent)
1/3 c. mayonnaise
2 to 4 T. dill pickle juice (white vinegar would work well too)
2 t. dried parsley, or 1 T. fresh parsley, chopped
salt and pepper, to taste
chives, chopped (for garnish)

Mix everything well in a bowl, until everything is coated well and the mayonnaise has liquified. This salad always takes more salt than what I expect so don’t be surprised if you’re using more than what you thought you would. The “dressing” ends up collecting in the bottom of the bowl; feel free to serve using a slotted spoon. Or if you’re like me, make sure a lot of that “dressing” ends up in your own individual bowl.

