Tags

, ,


In the mood for all things Fall? Me too. It’s my favorite – hands down.

Did you know that cinnamon pieces existed? I didn’t. They’re like chocolate chips…but not. They have the same shape as chocolate chips but are cinnamon flavored. While I like to think that I have a decent knowledge of the items offered at the grocery store, I have to say that I had never heard of cinnamon pieces until this summer. I was helping my neighbor clean out her kitchen because she was moving out of state and couldn’t take very much with her. She started flinging things off her pantry shelves and into my arms. A bag of cinnamon pieces landed under my nose and I thought, “when will I ever use these?”

Fast forward to now. Fall. I was thumbing through a magazine and spotted a recipe for a fruity cinnamon bar. Fortunately it was one that I could adapt and change up a little to suit my Fall-gotta-have-something-appleish needs. And it listed cinnamon pieces as one of the ingredients. Bonus.

These bars are wonderful (and sweet!) and are like a little bite of apple pie in your mouth. The cinnamon pieces melt into all of the apple goodness. Purely delish.

Apple Cinnamon Streusel Bars

2 c. all-purpose flour
1 1/4 c. quick-cooking rolled oats
3/4 c. packed brown sugar
2 t. ground cinnamon
1 c. butter, cut in small cubes
2 eggs
1 c. granulated sugar
2 T. all-purpose flour
1/4 t. baking powder
1/4 t. salt
2 c. peeled and chopped granny smith apples
3/4 c. cinnamon pieces
Powdered Sugar Icing

Preheat oven to 350. Lightly grease a 13x9x2-inch baking pan; set aside. Add the 2 c. flour, the oats, brown sugar, and cinnamon to the bowl of your food processor. Add the cubes of butter and pulse until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Remove 1 1/2 c. of the mixture for topping and set aside. Press the remaining oats mixture into the bottom of the baking pan and bake for 15 minutes. For filling, in a medium bowl combine eggs and sugar. Stir in the 2 T. flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir in apples and cinnamon pieces. Spread filling evenly over hot crust. Sprinkle with reserved oats mixture. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until top is golden. Cool in pan on a wire rack. Cut into bars. Drizzle with Powdered Sugar Icing.

Powdered Sugar Icing
1 c. powdered sugar
2 T. milk
In a small bowl stir together the powdered sugar and milk until it reaches drizzling consistency.

