Tags

,

Several times while working this summer, I helped my boss prepare one of her family’s favorite side dishes, which is this Corn Saute. I was never there to taste the end result and kept thinking I should make it sometime soon. While I was at the store today I saw that corn on the cob had just been delivered – it was only picked yesterday! Right away I remembered Shan’s recipe and knew I’d be making this as a side dish with our dinner tonight. And what better way to use up some of my garden peppers! Who knew that corn and peppers could form the perfect marriage of sweet and tart? It was most fab. The whole family scarfed it up!

Shan’s Corn Saute
5 medium to large ears of fresh corn, husked and kernels removed (after husking, I usually stand the ear of corn in the center of my Bundt cake pan and run my knife down all sides of the cob to remove kernels. The hole in the middle of the pan nicely holds the ear of corn while the pan itself catches all of the cut kernels.)
2 medium green peppers, diced
3 T. butter
salt and pepper, to taste

In a large skillet, melt butter over medium high heat. Add corn, peppers, salt and pepper. Stir frequently while the corn and peppers cook. Continue cooking for 7-8 minutes or until vegetables reach desired softness (we like ours to have a little snap or crunch to them). Serve with your favorite grilled chicken, pork or beef!

