Tags

,

I have a picky eater. He came by it naturally. I too, was picky. Now, I think of myself as particular. Of discerning taste. My mom used deception when I was a kid to get me to eat. She did things like grinding up raisins in the blender and putting them in cookies. I hated raisins alone. Still do. When we would comment that we liked the cookies, she would get all sly and let us know that we really liked raisins after all.

I hated the cunning deception of motherhood as a kid, but admittedly, I have resorted to such tactics. Some time ago, I bought Jessica Seinfeld’s book and set out on my course of deception. But her recipe was a little too low fat. I despise hate margarine. So my version has the real McCoy. And I use whole eggs. I also increased the amount of rolled oats. My sister in law actually grinds her own wheat into flour. It makes the most incredible baked goods. I used it in these, and it made amazing cookies!

When Jake asked what the chick peas were (because he was hovering for the Ghiradelli chocolate chips), I told him it was a secret ingredient that went into “kid food.” He bought it. He tried the cookies right out of the oven, and my deception was complete.

1 c light or dark brown sugar
3/4 c butter
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla
1 (15 oz) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
2 cups chocolate chips
3/4 c chopped walnuts (optional)
3/4 c raisins (optional)
2 c flour
2/3 c old fashioned oats
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Cream sugar and butter. Add vanilla, and eggs, followed by the chickpeas and chocolate chips. The add flour, oats, baking soda, and salt.

Bake at 350 for 11-13 minutes (it only takes 6-7 in a convection oven).

