Tags

,


I love soup. I love to make soup. Don’t ask me why, but I think it is one of my favorite types of food to make. Needless to say, when temperatures ever so slightly dropped this weekend, my soup pot was out and I set to chopping!

This tortilla soup is one of our all-time favorites. It has evolved a little over the years – for the better, I would say. Making soup is never one of those “follow the recipe” experiences for me because I usually just chop and drop without measuring. But this time around, I did my best to keep track of measurements so that I might share this goodness with you!

Tortilla Soup
2 T. olive oil
2 carrots, diced
1 medium onion, diced
2 ribs celery, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 – 3 t. cumin
2 t. chili powder
1 1/2 t. coriander
salt and pepper, to taste
64 oz. chicken broth
14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes
8 small corn tortillas, quartered, then sliced into strips
2 c. frozen, petite white corn (or use fresh equivalent – YUM!)
3 c. cooked, shredded chicken
1/2 c. cilantro, chopped
1 1/2 t. oregano

Toppings: sour cream, additional chopped cilantro, crushed tortilla chips, diced avocado, diced tomato, grated cheese

In a large soup pot, saute carrots, onion and celery in olive oil for 5 to 7 minutes or until softened. Add garlic, cumin, chili powder, coriander, salt and pepper. Stir while sauteing for 3 minutes. Add chicken broth, diced tomatoes and tortillas. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 10-12 minutes. Remove from heat and use immersion blender to blend to desired consistency. Why blend, you ask? I like to use the immersion blender to make the carrots, celery, onions and tomatoes a little less noticeable to my kids. Blending also lends a nicer texture to the soup overall.

Return to medium-high heat and add corn, shredded chicken, cilantro and oregano. Simmer for at least 10 minutes, then taste and adjust any seasonings if necessary. Simmer another 5 or 10 minutes. Ladle into bowls, add desired toppings and then…swoon! If you’re looking for a hearty, down-in-your-soul good soup, look no more!

Notes: Sometimes, if I want the soup to be thicker or heartier, I add black beans. Another nice addition is chipotle en adobo or chipotle chili powder for a nice smoky flavor and some extra spice.

