Tags

, ,

My sister Lou shared this recipe with me years ago. I love that I have this recipe written in her hand. And they are my favorite bran muffin too. Dense, but not heavy, moist (if you don’t skimp on the melted butter), and lots of nutty goodness in every bite. My sister in law Linda, has a wheat mill and grinds the most amazing wheat flour that works perfectly with these muffins. Of course, white flour works nicely too.

Honey Oat Bran Muffins

1 c unbleached flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 c raw, unprocessed oat bran (You can find this in the cereal aisle, near the oatmeal.)
1 c buttermilk
1 large egg
1/3 c honey
3 tb butter, melted
1 c toasted walnuts, chopped

Sift dry ingredients together. Make a well in the center. Beat together liquid ingredients. Pour into the well and stir everything just long enough to “perfectly combine” (Lou’s words here. You’ll know it when you see it.) I prefer to bake these in a mini muffin tin. Bake until golden on top, about 8-10 minutes at 350. (A toothpick should come out clean.)

For extra special goodness add to taste any or all of the following:
Raisins
Chopped dates
Wheat germ
Ground flax seed (I substitute an equal amount of flax for the flour. I usually use 1/4 c flax and 3/4 c flour.)
1 very ripe banana, mashed

I enjoy these with Greek yogurt topped with cinnamon, almonds and fruit for a filling breakfast.

