Tags

, , ,

Like the Fullantes, we also love Mexican food. I make ours carb friendly, which really just means building a nice little pile of protein with all the taco fixins’. I have a favorite cookbook from Williams Sonoma that I borrowed this recipe from. Since I mixed it up a little (as I always do), I’m claiming it as my own. Tacos are one of those main dish meals that allows for a lot of creativity. As long as there is lime, cilantro, sour cream and avocados involved, it’s going to be good.

Soft Tacos

the protein
2 pounds of chicken or fish
I use the convection setting on my oven to roast the chicken or fish, but it’s even better when grilled over charcoal. Shred the chicken while it’s still warm.

the sides
Creamy Avocado Dressing
1 ripe avocado
1 c plain Greek yogurt or sour cream
juice from 1/2 lime
cilantro
Blend these ingredients in a food processor until smooth. If you don’t mind a few lumps, you can just mash the avocado and stir it into the yogurt.

Savoy Slaw
2 c savoy cabbage, shredded
1/2 of a large cucumber, seeded and diced
juice from 1 lime
1/4 of a large red pepper, diced
1/4 c (or so) chopped cilantro
2 tb olive oil
2 green onions, chopped
sea salt to taste
Mix the vegetables and cilantro in a bowl. Mix lime and olive oil in a separate bowl, season with sea salt, and drizzle over the slaw. Allow to sit for an hour or so for the cabbage to wilt slightly.

Guacamole

Salsa
2 vine ripened tomatoes, chopped
1/4 c cilantro
juice from 1 lime
1/2 jalapeno, chopped
sea salt to taste
chopped onion to taste
Combine ingredients in a bowl.

While everything is resting a bit, it’s a good time for a power walk. After a couple miles, this will taste extra good!

I layer all these ingredients to taste on a warm, flour tortilla. Or you can start with the chicken, and layer with shredded cheddar, and all the rest of the fixins’.

