Tags

,


Our family loves Mexican food. Correction: 4 out of the 5 of us love Mexican food. I make a lot of Mexican food, from tortilla soup to enchiladas to fish tacos – so we hope that the 5th member of the family comes to her senses and eventually learns to love Mexican food as much as the rest of us. Even with all of the “fiesta making” that goes on around here, I never buy seasoning packets. I’m sure I inherited that from my mom. She and I both are leery of chemicals and non-natural sorts of things being in those seasoning packets. So I was thrilled to find a taco seasoning recipe and tweak it to my liking! I’m not sure how completely authentic this is so you’ll have to cut me a little slack if there’s something in here that shouldn’t be. I’m a total white girl/gringa after all. Here it is:

Taco Seasoning
4 T. chili powder
1 t. garlic powder
1 t. onion powder
1/2 t. crushed red pepper flakes (or more if you like it spicy)
1 t. dried oregano
2 t. paprika
6 t. cumin
4 t. sea salt
4 t. black pepper

Mix all seasonings together in a bowl. Use 3 T. per 1 pound of ground beef, chicken etc. Store the rest in an airtight container. This recipe makes roughly enough seasoning for 4 lbs. of meat (the above photo shows 1/2 of this recipe).

Recently I used this recipe to make tacos – 4 out of 5 us love tacos, especially homemade tacos – the kind that are filled with fresh ingredients, and hard to tell where one stops and the next one begins! They were a huge hit with the perfect seasoning in the meat – a little spicy, but not too much. So go for it! Mix some of this up, and use to make some of these:

