Tags

, ,

Ok. Better get ready because you’re in for a treat. This is the ultimate fresh, low carb, high protein, while crazy, amazingly, yummy main course a girl has ever eaten. We’re talkin’ ceviche people. One of the doctors I work with is Peruvian. I doubt this would meet his high standards for authentic ceviche. I don’t have those fancy Peruvian peppers, see? But, it is seafood. And it is cooked in lime. So that makes it authentic in my book.

If you’re thinking that you won’t like it because it’s raw, think again. Left overnight to stew in the juices of a bunch of little Key limes, the seafood is definitely “cooked.” By that I mean, white, firm, tender fish. That’s the magic of the Key lime.

A friend shared her version of this recipe. I tweaked it a little, because I can’t make any recipe without fiddlin’ around with it just a little bit. So after my adjustments, I’ve claimed this one as my own. If you want to throw caution to the wind, wrap this in a nice, warmed, whole wheat tortilla, and top with sliced avocado, a dollop of sour cream, and shredded lettuce. Now you’ve got yourself the most colorful, flavorful, seafood taco on this side of the Mississip. Why am I speaking in this Southern accent tonight? I have no earthly idea. Just make the ceviche.

Myra’s Ceviche

2 cups of assorted fish and shellfish, cut into small pieces (I chose thinly sliced talapia, bay scallops and shrimp)
1/2 cup (or so) of chopped, fresh cilantro – if in doubt, through some extra in. You can’t go wrong with cilantro.
4 green onions, chopped – white and most of the green part
1 large jalapeno, finely chopped (use 2 if you’re brave, it’s up to you)
1 pint of grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
sea salt to taste
1/2 pint of Key lime juice

Good things are worth waiting for. If you’re hungry for ceviche, you need to start the day before, because it needs 24 hours to marinate. I mix these ingredients together and smooth into a single layer in a 9 x 13 inch glass pan. Then I pour the Key lime juice on top. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate. Then you wait. I do like to stir it now and again, to make sure all the seafood has had the opportunity to soak in the lime juice.

Make a pitcher of margaritas, and you’re all set!
 

