Tags

, , ,

If ever I want to show my husband how much I love him, all I have to do is make this salad.  One of the ways to his heart is definitely through his stomach, no doubt about it.  When I make this Caesar Salad, he is such putty in my hands after just a few bites!  I had this recipe in my repertoire before he and I met – got it from a co-worker and friend when I was working at Bugle Boy oh-so-many-years ago.  I was in my early 20’s and living in Southern California in the middle of a restaurant mecca. And yet somehow I never had a Caesar Salad until my friend brought this one to our department Christmas party.  I have to admit that it was love at first taste for me too. This salad is definitely full of bold, delicious flavor! I served it to my family at any opportunity that Christmas season and was one of the first dishes I cooked for my hubby. He was hooked and I think you will be as well. Serve it as a side salad to a crowd, or add your favorite protein and make it a Main Dish. Whatever you do, please don’t skip the anchovies! They add another dimension of delicious flavor, trust me. Besides, what is Caesar Salad without anchovies?

Dressing:
1 1/2 c. Canola oil
1 T. Worcestershire
1 T. white vinegar
1 t. dry mustard
3 to 4 cloves garlic
4 to 6 anchovy fillets (from a small can)
2 T. peppercorns
1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, freshly shredded

Salad:
3 small chicken breasts, grilled, sliced and warm
2 heads romaine lettuce
1 pkg. croutons
1 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese, freshly shredded

Tear lettuce and mix with croutons. Chill for about an hour to slightly soften the croutons. While lettuce is chilling, mix all dressing ingredients in blender until well combined. Toss salad with desired amount of dressing, then 1 1/2 c. of Parmesan cheese 15 minutes before serving. Top with warm, grilled chicken (and shaved Parmesan, if you want to be fancy!). Your life may never be the same!

