Tags

, , , ,

I am a huge eggplant lover. Huge. When they are plentiful, I love making them in many ways. I sort of invented this easy dish that you can make in huge batches or smaller ones. It would also be good with shredded chicken, but I like it vegetarian. I only know how to make this in a “dump and pour” fashion. I mixed a little extra olive oil into 1-2 large tablespoons of pesto to make a nice dressing. Experiment a little because this can’t be ruined with too much pesto!

2 medium eggplant, cubed
1 large zucchini, cubed
1 box of cherry tomatoes, halved
assorted olives (dried, Kalamata, large green)
sea salt
pesto
extra virgin olive oil
feta, crumbled to taste

After I cut up the vegetables, I put them in a large roasting pan. It’s the same one I use for lasagna. Then I drizzle them with the pesto/olive oil dressing and sprinkle with the sea salt. Toss the veggies to coat with the dressing. I have a convection oven. The roast setting works perfectly because the veggies get carmelized. Bake or roast at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes. Stir only once, halfway through to avoid making the tomatoes mushy. They’re very fragile, those little cherry tomatoes, and require love an care in the oven. Sprinkle with feta to taste during the last 10 minutes.

