Tags

, ,

When I was a kid I used to get tired of my mom always cooking our food from scratch.  I really wanted to have the white Wonder bread pb&j’s in my lunchbox like everyone else instead of the nutritious, homemade whole wheat bread my mom made.  Couldn’t we just buy some Oreos instead of always having homemade cookies?  My mom even made the yogurt we ate!  And now, while I have yet to keep our freezer stocked with homemade bread, I do find myself making many things at home instead of buying them.  Partly because I can control the quality of ingredients but mostly because the made-from-scratch recipe tastes so.very.good.

This hot fudge sauce is the perfect example of something you could easily buy, yet it is also so easily made.  And it is off the charts delicious!  There is a depth of flavor in this recipe that I haven’t found in the jars at the store – just a little something extra in the recipe that makes you close your eyes and hum for about five minutes, sometimes longer.  What makes this recipe even more perfect, for me anyway, is that I first tasted it because my Mom made it.  If I’m not mistaken she saw the original recipe while watching Paula Deen and was inspired to make it for all of us.  My mom rarely indulges in ice cream, but when she has this in the fridge, she goes for it!  I can certainly relate!

Mr. Pete’s Hot Fudge Sauce

1 3/4 c. heavy cream
3/4 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. butter, cut into small pieces
2 3/4 c. semisweet chocolate chips
1/8 t. sea salt
1 t vanilla extract

In a heavy bottomed saucepan over low heat, bring the cream just to a boil then add the brown sugar and stir just until it dissolves.  Add small pieces of butter and mix until completely melted, then stir in the chocolate chips.  Wait 3 to 5 minutes so that the chocolate is very soft before folding it in with a spatula.  Stir in the salt and vanilla extract and blend until well incorporated.  Let cool for 15 minutes; it will thicken as it cools.  Store in refrigerator. We usually remove a couple of spoonfuls and microwave until it is warm but not hot, before serving.  My personal favorite: hot fudge sauce spooned over some really good quality coffee ice cream!

