Tags

,

As we all know, when you grow up ‘Nisly’ you have a deep, heartfelt appreciation for ice cream.  So, when Myra came up with the idea for this blog, I instantly thought of the first recipe I’d share. It’s all I’ve been talking about and thinking about over the last week. I know… it’s pretty sad when ice cream finds its way into your daydreams at work. Your computer screen becomes a blur, and you mindlessly wipe the drool from the corner of your mouth. I blame it entirely on my Dad, who used to tell us stories of growing up with ice cream dinners. Ice cream makes everything in life better.  Bad day at work… have some coffee ice cream. Tedious home project… break out the toffee bar crunch. Disagreement with the husband… go for the gold with peanut butter chocolate.    

So, when I came across this recipe last week, it took me all of two seconds to add the ingredients to my grocery list. I mean, really… an unfried version of fried ice cream! It’s ridiculously easy, and takes all of 5 minutes to put together. I made salads for dinner on the night I broke this baby out (ease the guilt). I had one over-the-top yummy piece. And then the next day, our power company shut off power in the neighborhood for some stupid upgrade. Dessert ruined. But, it’s already a household favorite and will be made over and over and over again. Here it is…

1  1/2 cups cornflakes, crushed
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
4 tbsp. honey
3 pints vanilla ice-cream, slightly softened

1. Sprinkle the inside of an 8 x 4″ loaf pan with water. Line pan with 2 sheets of plastic wrap; crisscross, leaving a 6″ overhang on all sides. In a small bowl, combine crushed cornflakes and cinnamon. 

2. Sprinkle half the cornflake misture in the bottom of pan; drizzle with 2 tbsp. honey. Top with half the ice cream. Lather, rinse, repeat.

3. Fold plastic overhang over ice cream, and freeze until firm, 6 hrs. To serve, unfold plastic; invert pan onto a plate, and peel off plastic.

