There were very few avocados in our home growing up. In fact, I can’t remember a single one. My first encounter with an avocado was vivid: I think I was 10 or 11, helping a family friend after the birth of her first child. She put a couple slices on my salad. I gagged big time (that’s a Nisly trait). I think it was the soft texture. I didn’t know what to do with it. She took me off the hook and told me I didn’t have to eat it.

Today, I’ve love avocados! It was a little torturous visiting California last year and seeing them for $0.25 when we pay anywhere from $1.25 to $2.00 each in Florida! The Haas variety are a favorite here. I’ve been experimenting with guacamole for the last couple years and I think I have it down. I bought a molcajete at Williams Sonoma after seeing it in action for the first time tableside at a restaurant in San Antonio. Of course you can mash the avocados with a fork, but pounding the jalapenos and onions into submission with the pestle is so much more fun!

Myra’s Guac

3 soft Haas avocados
4 tb chopped cilantro
1/2 lime, freshly squeezed
1/2 vine ripened tomato
1/2 jalepeno, chopped
1-2 slices of onion, chopped
sea salt to sprinkle to taste

I like to grind the onion and jalepeno together to blend the juices in the molcajete. Then I mash the avocado, but leave lots of big chunks. I stir the cilantro and tomato in. Then I add a big bunch of cilantro. That’s what makes it seriously good. Drizzle the entire thing with the lime and you’re all set.

I could eat it straight out of the bowl, but it works well with tortilla chips and a margarita. Cheers!

