Tags

, , , ,

Chocolate chip cookies have a pretty important place in our Nisly home. Armed with a chocolate chip cookie, I could barter for any 3rd grade treat in the lunch room. I often traded my bag of cookies for Doritos (which were considered an expensive treat and almost never in my lunch box). Back in those days, I carpooled with my teacher who took me to a private, Christian school in Tarpon Springs. My mom became so famous for her cookies that she actually paid my teacher in cookies to cover her gas. Yes, they were that good.

Over the years, we’ve concocted many variations on my mom’s famous recipe. Today, use real butter instead of Blue Bonnet margarine. We also splurge on milk chocolate Ghiradelli chips and natural peanut butter.

My sister Lou’s recipe has almost all of the finest ingredients a cookie can have: chocolate chips, peanut butter, nuts and oatmeal. Her recipe gives some leeway with the chocolate chips. I say splurge and stir in two cups.

Cream together:

1 C butter
1/2 C peanut butter (I prefer natural)
1/2 C brown sugar
1/2 C white sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract

Combine, then add to creamed mixture:

1 1/2 C flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Stir in:

2 C rolled oats
1-2 C chocolate chips
1 C coarsely chopped toasted nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans or all three)

(You can leave out the nuts to make it kid friendly.) Drop by teaspoon on cookie sheet. Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes.

